Tuesday, April 7, 2009

Vermont Leads The Way - Again!

In 2000, Vermont was the first state to offer Civil Unions to same sex couples. Today, Vermont became the first state to legalize same sex marriage via its Legislature rather than litigation in the courts!

The northeastern region of the United States is called New England. It’s made up of six states: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont. Vermont, Massachusetts and Connecticut allow same sex couples the right to marry in civil ceremonies. New Hampshire offers civil unions. Maine has only domestic partnership and Rhode Island, well, Little Rhody is still struggling. But to have same sex marriage legal in 50% of this region’s states, plus civil unions in a fourth, is a pretty darn good track record for this corner of the world.

No comments: